Q Menu
< Qualifications
< Art and Design
< Biology
< Business
< Chemistry
< Combined Science
< Computer Science
< Criminology
< Design and Technology
< Drama (and Theatre)
< Economics
< Electronics
< English Language
< English Language and Literature
< English Literature
< Environmental Science
< Extended Project
< Film Studies
< Food Preparation and Nutrition
< French
< Geography
< Geology
< German
< Global Business Communication
< Health and Social Care
< History
< Hospitality and Catering
< Latin
< Law
< Mathematics
< Media Studies
< Medical Science
< Music
< Physical Education
< Physics
< Psychology
< Religious Studies
< Sociology
< Spanish
< Vocational Qualifications
< Exams Office
< Teachers
< Leadership and Management

Frequently Asked Questions

LWhat is Eduqas?

Eduqas is part of WJEC. Eduqas provides Ofqual reformed GCSE, AS and A level qualifications to secondary schools and colleges in England, Channel Islands, Isle of Man, Northern Ireland and to the independent sector in Wales (restrictions apply).

The Eduqas brand was developed as a response to diverging qualifications between England and Wales. Eduqas is dedicated to delivering Ofqual reformed qualifications for first teaching from 2015, 2016 and 2017 respectively. Current specifications being taught in schools and colleges in England will continue to be branded WJEC.

LWhy is WJEC introducing this new brand?

WJEC is the only awarding organisation offering GCSE, AS and A level qualifications to both England and Wales following the 2015 reforms. In light of diverging qualification requirements, it was important to brand our qualifications in order to clearly differentiate between those regulated by Ofqual in England and those regulated by Welsh Government/Qualifications Wales in Wales. This differentiation assists teachers in easily identifying the correct specification to deliver.

These reformed qualifications are clearly labelled WJEC Eduqas. For example, the Eduqas reformed WJEC GCSE in Mathematics is labelled ‘WJEC Eduqas GCSE (9-1) Mathematics’ on formal documentation.

LWhat else is changing?

Three reformed GCSEs, 12 AS and 12 A levels were introduced for first teaching in September 2015, 17 GCSEs, 8 AS and 8 A levels were introduced for first teaching from 2016, and a further 7 GCSEs, 6 AS and 6 A levels will be introduced for 2017.

In England, reformed GCSE qualifications are graded 9-1, with 9 being the highest grade. This will replace the current A*-G grading system. A full explanation of the new GCSE grading is available here.

All Ofqual regulated GCSE, AS and A levels for first teaching from 2015, 2016 and 2017 are linear, and therefore, they are assessed at the end of the course. The first assessment opportunity for our reformed qualifications was in 2016 for AS, and will be in 2017 for GCSE and A levels.

WJEC Eduqas Reformed Qualifications

LWill WJEC still provide qualifications?

Yes, WJEC will remain the awarding organisation and will continue to offer a full range of academic and vocational qualifications. For Ofqual reformed qualifications, the brand will be WJEC Eduqas.

LWhat will happen to current specifications not currently being reformed e.g. Level 1/2?

WJEC specifications currently taught in England, Wales and elsewhere and which are not being reformed, will continue to be delivered without change. WJEC will also continue to provide training courses, resources and support for all teachers, regardless of the qualification branding.

To receive regular news, training opportunities and resource updates for your subject, please subscribe to receive our subject specific email bulletins.

LI currently deliver a WJEC specification, does my centre need to re-register?

If your centre currently delivers WJEC specifications, it will not need to re-register. You can check if your centre is already registered with us and also, register as a new centre by emailing centres@wjec.co.uk.

LWill WJEC Eduqas qualifications be recognised by colleges and universities?

Yes, WJEC Eduqas qualifications are recognised by colleges and universities. They are regulated by Ofqual and awarded by WJEC.

LDo WJEC Eduqas qualifications count towards the school league tables?

Yes, all relevant WJEC Eduqas GCSE, AS and A level qualifications count towards school league tables in England.

LWill WJEC Eduqas qualifications satisfy the Progress 8 measure?

Yes, all relevant qualifications from WJEC Eduqas contribute to the calculation of the Progress 8 performance measure in England. The Progress 8 performance measure was introduced in England from 2016. Further information may be found on the DfE website.

LWill I still communicate with the same people at WJEC?

We pride ourselves on providing a personal, dedicated service to teachers. This has not changed under the WJEC Eduqas brand. Teachers continue to have direct access to the same subject specialists and helpful administrative support. If you have a subject specific question, please contact our Subject Officers directly. Their contact details can be found here.

LWho do I need to speak to if I have a question?

For further information on our reformed qualifications, you can email info@eduqas.co.uk or call us at 029 2026 5465. For subject specific queries, you can contact our subject specialists directly.

To receive regular news, training opportunities and resources for your subject, please subscribe to receive our subject specific email bulletins.